The evaluation of Coach Derouin

DISCLAIMER: I am aware of any personal bias I may have, which is why I present all my information with facts, straight from the evaluation handed to Coach Derouin from the athletic director.

First off, if you want to blame the last two seasons on Coach Derouin, that is your first mistake. With all due respect, Vince Lombardi couldn’t have coached those teams to any more wins, and anyone with knowledge of football would realize that.  You didn’t exactly have the 85′ Bears defense out there.  I’m not going into calling out people’s kids, so I’ll just leave it at that.

I wasn’t going to write this blog, and I was going to avoid this altogether. That was until I read the performance evaluation that was given to Coach Derouin on why he was being relieved of his coaching duties.

A lot of the information in this evaluation doesn’t match up with what I’ve seen in my eight years involved in the Bark River-Harris football program. Four years as a manager, or statistician and four years as a player. I attended every practice for eight years in the Bark River-Harris football program (Superfan was there for every single one as well).

One of the main issues stated in the evaluation was a “lack of commitment to the program.” The evaluation cited that since there have been no two practices per day, this was a lack of commitment by the head coach. That’s intersting, because I’ve talked to numerous players who have played at Bark River-Harris and NONE of them have ever stated that they had two a day practices. Coach Witham never held two a day practices, Coach Johnson never held them, and those two coaches never had their “commitment” questioned. The Broncos never held two a days even in the 70’s when the program was headed by Coach DeBakker.

Let’s talk commitment to the program. Before Derouin took over the program, there were no 7 on 7’s, or off-season workouts for kids to learn the offense, and get better. Coach Derouin organized those in the summer, as well as organizing a weight lifting program headed by a certified personal trainer from the YMCA (who he later added to the coaching staff, so he would always be available to the kids). Not to mention the hours Derouin would spend watching film. I’ve seen him watch the same game of an opponent six to seven times in a day, scouting out the opponent.  The kids were given every opportunity to succeed, if willing to put in the time. Want results? The class of 10′ had 13 kids annually attend the weight lifting program headed by the personal trainer. The members of that program made at least All-Conference honors, and the team posted a 9-2 record.

Derouin also headed a youth football mini camp for elementary and junior high kids for four years. He also ran the school’s annual 3 on 3 basketball tournament for seven years, where the program raised over $30,000 for new school uniforms. Where exactly is the lack of commitment?

The evaluation noted a “lack of a well-organized practice schedule with specific objectivies for each practice.”Before the year would start, Derouin would hand out a monthly schedule that detailed every practice date and time, every game, as well as the picture date, scrimmage date, and the date of the off-road garbage pickup which the football team is involved in (another community event Derouin is involved in, but lack of commitment?).

Derouin would handwrite every individual practice and detail the time slots with every drill, and post the practice schedule so everyday, therefore, the kids would know what was ahead for them. Each practice was made with a goal in mind on where to improve, and the drills were made to accomplish this goal. How do I know this? I was at the practices for eight years.  How is having a monthly schedule handed BEFORE the year, and organizing individual pracitces showcase a lack of a well-organized practice schedule?

“Too many times I’ve witnessed varisty coaches yell, “block that guy,” or, “tackle that guy,” said A.D. Nick Nolde. “My concern is that our kids are not being taught how to do those thinngs.”

“That guy” is the same guy who the coaches have been preaching to the kids on who to either block, or tackle, all week long. How do I know? Because I’ve been to the practices, and was a member of the team. Throughout the days leading up to the game, the coaches hammer the gameplan into the heads of the kids, so that they can know what to expect. Before every game, the team is aware of what the other team is going to run. The coaches do their job, and put the kids in a position to succeed. For example, everyone in the U.P. knows that Crystal Falls and North Dickinson are going to run, and how. You can give a dog a bone, but you can’t make him eat it.

For “knowledge of rules, regulations, and overall understanding of the sport,” Derouin received a one, which is as low as you can go. A ONE! Heck, my girl friend, who just started watching football last year would at least deserve a two!

“It is also evident that our varsity coaching staff lacks knowledge in basic philosophies in the game of football,” said Nolde.

Before the start of the 2008 season, Derouin decided to install an entirely new offensive system. He switched the program from the I formation (yawn) to the spread offense, which is based around passing and creating space. In that first season with an entirely new offensive system, Derouin coached the Broncos to a 6-2 record, and the first playoff birth since 2003. He would lead the team to its’ consecutive playoff appearance the year later with a 9-2 record, running the new offensive system he installed. The previous year, before the offensive change, the  team recorded a 2-7 record. Derouin also coached the top two passers statistically in the history of Bark River-Harris, and has had nine players nominated to the U.P. Football All-Star Game (he was nominated as a coach in the game in 2010)

The offense was so effective, that prior to the start of this past season, Munising, who decided to install their own version of the spread, CALLED Derouin and asked for advice and input on the spread offense. Why would an opposing school call another coach for input if he had no overall understanding of the sport? Look, if the school wanted to go into a different direction after two bad seasons, I could understand that. But what really doesn’t make sense is the evaluation and the fabricated information just so that they could have reasoning to fire Derouin. Especially when an Athletic Director is making inferences after only being here for four months, and not attending one single practice. How can he make these judgements? I, along with others have my own opinion as to how, but that’s not the issue.

God Bless.

About Bryce Derouin

I love my family, friends & God. I'm a student at Grand Valley State. I love sports and enjoy talking them with anyone. My favorite teams are the L.A. Lakers, Green Bay Packers, Chicago Cubs, and I like Michigan football, and State basketball (Since Izzo is from the U.P.) Pretty much going to use this blog as a space for my friends and I to discuss sports. Facebook statuses don't always let me write all my thoughts down, and since we always get good discussions on Facebook, I figured I'd try a blog out.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Well done, kid. Supported your arguments well with facts and personal experience. This is a travesty. Sorry Joe has fallen victim to the increasing politicization of school and athletic climates. Shame on the administration for their lack of patience, lack of experience, and most importantly, lack of backbone.

  2. Well said. I have known your Dad for many years and have the utmost respect for him and the countless hours of volunteer time he has given Bark River because he loves the school and the students who attend there. You are also right on about player commettment and talent.
    Paul Polfus

  3. Jennifer Veeser

    Well done Bryce! Being that your Dad and Mom are my Godparents, I have known them for many years. Joe has given so much of himself to Bark River sports and I am shocked that he would be sent away from something he does such a great job at and loves! From the time I was little I remember how much he loved football and it’s a shame what the BRH administration has done.

  4. Nicely done. I think your dad should be proud of what he accomplished with what he was given. From first hand experience i know it wasnt easy for him in the past two years with low numbers and what not, but i know he coached, inspired, and made sure the kids were having fun. I dont think he should let it bother him too much and realize like Witham did that politics are ruining the school. I know how much my dad, Coach Derouin’s assistant, cared and respected him. I totally agree that it is a complete joke to question his commitment and intelligence of the game, since i too have been coached by him. Many of his techiniques he learned from Witham is what made him such a great coach. He took what he thought worked then added in his style to make it better, exactly how the great coaches do it. I sincerely hope Coach Derouin will end up coaching again sometime soon.

  5. I played on one of joes teams and was proud to call him coach.
    I am sure there are many former players that would say the same thing.
    Good job coach

  6. As a sports reporter at the Escanaba Daily Press, it was clearly evident each time I talked to coach Derouin that he had a deep understanding of the game. He cared deeply about his kids and I know they respected him as well. I talk to a lot of coaches in my profession and Joe Derouin is truly one of the good guys out there. I’m very sad to see him go. May he land on his feet somewhere where he is appreciated, not just by the community but by his employer as well.

  7. Carrie (Carlson) Lieberman

    My heart breaks to hear how Joe has been treated by the administration of Bark River-Harris schools. I truly believe that ALL those who have had any involvement in the Bark River-Harris athletic program over the years, knows that Mr. Nolde’s words are nothing but lies. Joe (and Sandy) should be rewarded for all their hard work in making the athletic program at Bark River-Harris a huge success. They have gone above and beyond to give the athletes the best experience possible (including myself, a 1997 graduate). It is sad that Mr. Nolde, and the others involved in the “performance evaluation,” were not able to experience what the athletes at Bark River-Harris have experienced from Joe… commitment, organization, knowledge and unconditional support (to name a few). Thank you to Bryce for writing this article.

  8. I have watched his student athletes play – undisciplined, un-fundamental and horribly coached in my opinion. Maybe it was just a “bad bunch” of kids, but I mean come one – they really were not coached at all.

  9. Football is a TEAM sport, and if you don’t have 11 guys on the field who get along with one another, then you won’t have success. It takes more than 3 or 4 players to have a successful football team, and if you were from the area and knew the kids, a few of them have bad attitudes, and that just brings down the rest of the team. It’s funny, because you must’ve not read the entire blog, with this same coaching staff made the playoffs 2 straight years. The players changed, not the coaches. People can’t accept that their kids aren’t All-Stars, so they place the blame on the coaches, which is commonplace now in our society. Now not all the kids were bad, there were enough to be a cancer, and if you’re from the area, I’m sure you could figure it out.

    • I really don’t think it matters if I am from the area or not. I saw two games against two different opponents. The author says he presents only facts, yet his first line of the blog is a straight up opinion. I know the AD pretty well and he is a stand up guy. Maybe his expectations are a greater than what the coach’s are. I don’t know.

  10. It matters if you’re from the area or not so you can understand thats some of the kids have bad attitudes, and you could realize that this wasn’t the most, talented group of kids as a whole. He sure looks like an upstanding guy when he evaluates a coach’s practice when he hasn’t even been to one.

  11. eleven gears…to say Joe Doesn’t know that game is one of the most offensive insults I’ve ever heard. He put in a ton of time to the BRH sports program. As for the last two years..you can polish a turd but its still a turd, no matter how much polish you throw at it

  12. Is there a dislike button for Travis Martin’s comment?

  13. And into week two at Bark River and what a huge change… sarcasim intended! 1. as per above “lack of a well-organized practice schedule with specific objectivies for each practice” there was no calendar of events handed out this year. 2. as per above“Too many times I’ve witnessed varisty coaches yell, “block that guy,” or, “tackle that guy,” said A.D. Nick Nolde. “My concern is that our kids are not being taught how to do those thinngs.” … wow shocking difference this new coach demonstrated Friday Aug 31 vs Gladstone… again sarcasim intended! There is talent on that field this year I assure you, but the my way or the high way attitude of the new coach not going to get them anywhere. Its too bad, and obvious it was NOT Joe!..

Leave a comment